History – Glanmire Football Club
Glanmire Football Club
Don't Miss


In the 1890‟s Cumann Peil Gleann Maghair had a ground in Rathcooney where they trained and played their games. They participated in many tournament games throughout the county. In the early 1920‟s the club went out of existence. Sarsfields hurling club then entered football teams and won six divisional A grade championships from 1929 to ‟37. They won a county title in 1937. Sarsfields Hurling Club also captured four A grade minor football championship titles from 1930 to 1938 including two county titles in 1936 and 1937.

Since Cumann Peil Gleann Maghair was re-formed in 1945 many divisional and county championship titles at both adult and underage levels have been won. A county Intermediate title was won in 1987. At divisional level twelve Junior A grade titles were won between 1946 and 1977. Two Junior A Grade County titles were won in 1951 and 1958 while two league titles were won in 1963 and 1965.

The Junior B grade championship has been won four times and the league has been won once. Cumann Peil Gleann Maghair leads the Roll of Honour in East Cork U21 Championship titles winning the competition 13 times between 1972 and 2010. The East Cork U21 B Championship was won in 1979 while the C Grade competition was won in 2009 when two U21 teams were fielded.

At minor level twenty five A Grade East Cork Championship titles have been won between 1946 and 2005. The East Cork Minor B Grade championship was won in 1981. In the League, eight titles have been won between 1974 and 2001

When Imokilly Divisional Teams won County Senior Football titles in 1984 and 1986, the club was represented by Bertie Murphy (Snr) (RIP) as a selector and by many players.

At Inter-County level the club has been represented on Senior, Junior, Under 21, Minor, U16 and U14 teams

In cultural affairs of Cumann Luthchleas Gael, Cumann Peil Gleann Maghair has been represented in the Scor competitions in Solo singing, Recitation, Instrumental Music, Novelty Act and in Question Time with many Divisional and County titles being captured.